Taking a Break with French Vacations: California Break Laws Required by Law
Do you work in California? If so then it’s important to know all the logistics that are involved like california break laws what must my employer provide.
Working in the Golden State
Why should you consider working in California over other states? There are several benefits. For example, California has the largest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) among all US states. This is a plus since it means there are many job opportunities in the state compared to other states.
Another plus about working in California is it can provide you with several benefits including:
- Savings plan
- Holiday/vacation time
- Health benefits
- Promotion opportunities
- Retirement plan
These are great benefits and can help to add value to your overall work experience in the Golden State. It explains why many people form the US and abroad are picking California as their place of employment.
What Break Laws Are Required by California?
If you’re an employee in California it’s important to know some of the basics about what your employer is required to offer. That includes various issues like the breaks they must give you. California has laws that require companies to provide their workers with breaks and meals during the workday.
What’s required? Workers must be given 10 minutes of total break time for every 4 hours they work during one workday. They’re also required to provide a lunch break of 30 minutes when workers put in 5+ hours per day.
If a company fails to follow these guidelines they’re also required to compensate their workers. This is in the form of one hour of additional pay for each meal/break they require workers to work through. This might not seem like a lot of money. However, it can certainly add up very quickly if companies don’t follow break laws on a regular basis. Here are some important issues:
- Mealtimes must be provided for 5/10-hour workdays
30+ minute meal periods are required when workers work 5 hours/day. When workers put in 10+ hours in one day they must be given a second 30-minute meal. The first mealtime must be within the first 5 hours and the second one provided before the 10th hour is worked.
- Lunch breaks can be waived
However, there are special situations. When workers put in 6 hours or less in one day can have their meal breaks waived. However, in the case they work 12 or less hours in one day they can only waive the second lunch break but not the first break.
- Workers must be allowed to eat lunch off work premises
This is important because it’s required for them to be considered “off duty.” If they’re not allowed to leave their workstations then it’s counted as “on duty” and also time worked.
- Rest breaks are paid
This is counted as time the employee has worked. Companies can’t deduct wages for workers who take the breaks.
- Lunch breaks are unpaid
This differs from rest breaks. Technically workers should not eat their meals at their workstations since they’re not compensated for the time. Violations result in 1 hr. extra pay for workers.